Christian Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Excerpts

Christy Awards Announce the 2007 Winners

  • 2007 18 Jul
Christy Awards Announce the 2007 Winners

The eighth annual Christy Awards banquet was held in Atlanta, Georgia, Saturday in advance of the International Christian Retail Show. The Christy Awards honor outstanding accomplishment in Christian fiction in eight categories. For the second year in a row, Bethany House publishers won the most categories (3). Moody Press took home two awards.  The 2007 winners announced at the ceremony were:

Contemporary (Stand Alone)
Winter Birds, by Jamie Langston Turner (Bethany House, a division of Baker)

Contemporary (Series, Sequels, and Novellas)
The Brethren, by Beverly Lewis (Bethany House, a division of Baker)

Madman, by Tracy Groot (Moody Press)

Sisterchicks in Gondolas, by Robin Jones Gunn (Multnomah)

The Measure of a Lady, by Deeanne Gist (Bethany House, a division of Baker)

Plague Maker, by Tim Downs (Thomas Nelson)

First Novel
Where Mercy Flows, by Karen Harter (Center Street)

Young Adult
William Henry Is a Fine Name, by Cathy Gohlke (Moody Press)

The ceremony was attended by almost 300 authors and publishers, and covered in 22 media outlets.

“This year's Christys was marked by a groundswell of support,” says Donna Kehoe, the organization’s executive director, “as indicated by the number of submissions, the number of award dinner attendees, and the enthusiasm with which the message of the keynoter was received.”

Providing that keynote was author and four-time Christy Awards judge Lauren Winner who spoke about why it’s important that Christians write and read fiction. Reading novels, said Winner, helps us form our identities, especially when we are young. “Christian fiction strengthens the reader’s relationship with God . . . and our imaginations,” said Winner. “The truest truths are told in fiction, but more than simple moral instruction . . . good fiction crystallizes the human condition offering deep insights into our humanity and redemption.”

“It’s inspiring to be in a room full of writers,” say author Tracy Groot, who won the award for best historical fiction. “Lauren Winner spoke for so many of us . . . events like this help us (writers) become more aware of our readers.”

“I’m thrilled that a biblical story has gotten this much attention,” said Groot of her winning novel Madman which is set in Palestine during the time of Christ.

“It’s encouraging to meet with so many likeminded people who love fiction,” says Tim Downs whose book Plague Maker won in the suspense category. “We all must maintain this vision for what great things can be accomplished through fiction.”

The Christy Awards are named after Catherine Marshall’s distinguished novel Christy. The awards were established in 1999 to nurture and encourage creativity and quality in the writing and publishing of fiction written from a Christian worldview; to bring a new awareness of the breadth and depth of fiction choices available, helping to broaden the readership; and to provide an opportunity to recognize novelists whose work may not have reached bestseller status. For a complete list of this year’s nominees and to learn more about the awards visit The Christy Awards online.