Divine Discontent - Music Review

Artist:  Sixpence None the Richer
Label:  Word Entertainment/Reprise Records

With all the events leading up to the band’s first release in five years, there’s certainly plenty of lyrical fodder available for the band to use in its latest batch of songs.  Digging deep from the well of questions sure to arise from their circumstances and the group’s continued search to understand life through the lens of Christianity, Sixpence delivers 11 superbly poetic songs that are more hopeful than the melancholy musings of 1997’s self-titled effort.

Produced by Sixpence guitarist Matt Slocum and Paul Fox (10,000 Maniacs, Sugarcubes), Divine Discontent’s rich instrumentation is highlighted by Leigh Nash’s wistful voice that sounds more distinctive and polished than on previous projects.

While there are no commercial pop gems on the scale of radio hit “Kiss Me,’’ listeners should be pleased with the group’s maturation that’s marked by deeply contemplative lyrics requiring repeated listens to dissect meaning.

Used by permission.  CCM Magazine © 2002